Help with Immigration - First Steps

Jacko

Hey all,

I am a British citizen who wants to migrate to Canada to work and potentially settle down in the future – I am interested in Ontario or Quebec provinces. I am an experienced professional with 3 years of experience in the IT industry as a Consultant, QA Analyst and Business Analyst. I have got my Master's from university in United Kingdom in 2016. I am currently 26 yo. I will be a single applicant and I also have basic knowledge of French.

I appreciate that there are plenty of threads on this forum and I have seen many posts regarding various visa programs, however I am still not sure which one is best to choose in my situation? Could someone please recommend something based on experience? That would be highly appreciated!

I have a couple of general questions regarding migration.

Could someone speak from the experience and advice whether it is better to have my permit and then apply for jobs, or apply for jobs then permit, or do it simultaneously?

Which would be best Visa to apply for? Express Entry? Work Permit? Province nomination? Federal Skilled working program? IEC Visa? Please help!

Is it better to apply on your own or use agencies?

Can someone please explain me IELTS rules? I have read that even if you are native you would still need to provide them with language test results, is that true?

How long does normally the process take?

Also how willing are Canadian companies to hire British people?

Thanks! Any help is much appreciated!

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
So the thing about IEC is that it is much more straightforward and quicker than the other ways to come. I don't know, offhand, what the competition is like for the UK, but if you can come that way you don't need to have a job offer and you can decide whether or not you like Canada.