Canadian married to a Brazilian looking to emigrate to BC

dan.clifford

Dear All

Firstly, hello and thanks for taking the time to read. I've had a look through most of the forum but have come up a little short in my searches, mainly due to out dated info and some contradictions to what I'm seeing on the Canadian Consulate website.

I am a Canadian citizen, married with a Brazilian and we live here in the interior of S?o Paulo on a small holding. We've been married for 2.5 years, and due to recent political shifts and some security concerns, we're looking to move to Canada, Vancouver, to be precise.

We've a small business here in Brazil (a coffeeshop/micro bakery) but I'm a Civil engineer and my wife has worked with a large multi national for her entire professional career, so we'd be looking at returning to those fields until we have feet firmly on the ground.

We're not sure if it's best to do all the application from here and leave with everything in order (however we're worried how long this will take) or is it best for me to go, find work and arrange a tourist visa for my wife, then apply to be her sponsor from there.

I know I'm posting this on Immigroups forum, but would people suggest going it alone, or using a Consultancy, and what can one expect to pay for a consultancy like this, I'm assuming there isn't a one price fits all template! We're looking at a May/June move in 2018, are we being naive in thinking this is achievable?

Again, thanks for taking the time to read and I hope someone can shed some light on our concerns.

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
We're not sure if it's best to do all the application from here and leave with everything in order (however we're worried how long this will take) or is it best for me to go, find work and arrange a tourist visa for my wife, then apply to be her sponsor from there.