PR expired with work visa

Hello, I really have a concern and need your help!
I had received de CSQ (Québec) and after this, I got the Canadian PR in Sept/2006 and I haven't replace my PR card, so it expired 2011. Since I thought I didn’t complete the residency requirement, then I was sure it had expired (I moved back to Brazil in 2009), but I never officially renounced the Canada PR.
After 7 years, in 2016, I applied for an visitor’s visa and I didn’t have problems to enter in Canada to travel.
I'm right now living in Brazil, but meanwhile I had got a work offer (2019) and the companie started a process to the work visa.
The companie gave me the information that I'm still a Permanent Resident and that I had two options:
- I could request a travel document to reinstate ONLY if I accompany it to an urgent request for humanitarian aid, but taking this way, I should know expect this route to be time consuming and highly discretionary;
- Or renounced voluntarily and formally my permanent resident status and then ask that the work permit continue to be processed
But no one could explain to me the consequences of to renounce, so I would like to know if there are a right way to renounce my status and reapply for PR all over again, in the futur?
Do I have to renounce a Canadian PR before arriving in Canada, with a work visa? If I have never formally renounce my status, I will have some penalty to reapply?
If I renounce I have to wait for the oficial status would be revoked of Canadian PR to enter in Canada? How long does the decision take?
After get a PR revoked I will have some penalty to reapply and would I have the chance to reapply for a new CSQ and a PR card, like a regular immigrate?

Thank you so much in advance.

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member