Sponsorship enquiry

Hi there,

I am a British citizen looking for some advice on moving to Canada to be with my girlfriend.

I went to Canada last summer (August 2015) to attend my cousin's wedding and we met there. We officially became a couple in September. I am currently studying in the UK and looking to leave my course as it does not cater to my strengths or work experience. We have discussed me moving over as she is settled there with a steady job and I am agreeable to it. As far as we are aware we have two main options to living together, I could either apply for a course in Canada, and subsequently a student visa; the caveat being that money is an issue. We have also discussed sponsorship and we were wondering if we could get some advice on our status and what we need to do.

We are aware that if we are eligible for sponsorship that we could apply for an open work permit and that would make matters infinitely easier on the both of us, as ideally we would be getting our own place to live in.

We are aiming to be living together by January 2017 and by this time we will have been together for over a year. I have been to visit her over Christmas and spent three weeks with her and her immediate family. We have a vast amount of chat logs as evidence of our contact, letters, cards through the post in addition to photographs with her family. She will be visiting me for a week in March and we will be going to Africa together to visit my family based there for a month - customarily we take a lot of photographs with family. We have also paid for flights for each other for these trips and can provide evidence for them.

We were wondering what would work best for us as we are very keen to live and build a life together.

At the minute I am in the process of applying to a technical college for a course related to my previous work experience and would be looking to ultimately end up in that field having been educated in Canada.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Daniel.