Seeking advise!

Biggyboy35058

I am a Canadian Citizen, and I have a same sex relationship with a Philippine National. We want to marry, but that would only be possible to do in Canada. So I am researching what is the best way to accomplish this. We want to reside in Canada. I am a Canadian Military Veteran, and due to health limitations it is not possible for me to travel to the Philippines, although I have travelled there numerous times in the 1990's. I am thinking to try to help my partner to get a Visitor Visa, then when he comes to Canada we can marry. Then, I will apply to sponsor him as my spouse, while he is here in Canada. We have never met face to face, but have developed our relationship mainly by extensive communicating via Facebook video calling. He has a 4 year University degree in the Phils, and has travelled out of the philippines several times to visit other countries in S.E. Asia. His family is well established and owns several properties etc. He was working in the Tourism industry there but is not working presently mainly due to Covid affecting business there. I am semi retired, and well established in Canada, and finances for his trip is no problem. I am prepared to give him a detailed letter of invitation with financial evidence to fund his trip. I would appreciate any input or suggestions, including strategy regarding successfully getting his Visitor Visa to Canada. Thank you!

canadageorge

Administrator
I see a few issues:

'We have never met face to face', I would say that your Sponsorship application will not work. Basic requirements is you have in an intimate relationship for at least one year or more. Even in a weak case the two parties would have met at least twice.

Applying for a visitor visa could be a good start, but the big question is will they get it. This depends on your Filipino partner, proving that they will return to the Philippines. For most Filipino's this is not easy to prove.