Immigration through education

Pavel Z.

Hello, I'm sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong thread.
I am looking to move to Canada and so far the only options I have are thought a study permit. I have an associate's degree in electrical engineering, but every job offer I've found online is asking for someone with Canadian electrical license. I've then decided to try the study visa route, since I've found I'm ineligible for a express entry visa. Now, I've been reading here on the forum that I must also prove to the IIRC officer that I have ties to my home country, which is not hard, I own a car here and have family here, but I am looking to immigrate, 100%. I've got my IELTS exam and, and I'm not sure if I should translate my degree or my high school diploma, since some colleges ask for one or the other.
My question is, is there anywhere I can go to online to figure out how's the trade market is looking like in Canada right now? Some people I know that have left for Canada years ago are coming back now since they can't really find employment right now due to covid, but most of them aren't tradespeople. I don't mind studying a new trade.
Another question I have is about the Red Seal. I can't find a way online to apply, otherwise I'd try to get an electrical license before even coming to Canada.
I've also been told about different lawyer groups that "promise" to get you into Canada but most of them are scams, so the best option seems to be education.
The Nova Scotia Community College seems to be inexpensive, but I would like to know what I should study.
Thanks in advance.

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
What you can do is pick a province you're interested in and contact the electrician's professional association for that province, they will likely have job information.

Have you looked at the qualifications for the Federal Skilled Trades program or just Federal Skilled Worker? (Both operate through Express Entry.)