ECA equivalency for Bachelors of Law (Honors) from India?

gaurav3415

Hi

I have a Bachelor's of Law (Hons.) 5-year course from GGSIPU - If we proceed to get ECA from WES then they would assess it as Bachelor's Degree (4 year) as per the WES equivalency tool.

It seems that IQAS/CES would evaluate this as a First Professional Degree - Can someone please confirm this Or recommend where should I get the ECA done from?

The CRS points would drastically change in the scenario.

Also, IRCC claims that Law degrees are professional degrees and extra points can be claimed even if it's assessed as a "Bachelors of Law" or "First Professional Degree"

Thanks
Gaurav

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
So we're talking about 112 vs. 126 points, right? 14 points is not really a drastic change, though I can understand that if your score is going to be 455 with 112 (as an example) and 469 with 126 (again, as an example) it could make a big difference given the cut offs right now. (On the other hand, if your score is a lot lower or a lot higher, it will make zero difference.)

I don't know what the credential assessment organizations will actually do but, if you really do believe one will give you more points than the other, shouldn't you apply to that organization?

gaurav3415

So we're talking about 112 vs. 126 points, right? 14 points is not really a drastic change, though I can understand that if your score is going to be 455 with 112 (as an example) and 469 with 126 (again, as an example) it could make a big difference given the cut offs right now. (On the other hand, if your score is a lot lower or a lot higher, it will make zero difference.)

I don't know what the credential assessment organizations will actually do but, if you really do believe one will give you more points than the other, shouldn't you apply to that organization?
Hi Riley