Extension of working holiday, implied status, labour market opinion

ChileWorker

Hi
My IEC (working holiday) permit expires in a couple of weeks. I want to apply to extend it and at least have implied status until I get a decision. However the application form asks for a labour market opinion - which I don't have and can't get since I work in retail. If I leave it blank or write N/A on the form, will my application be weeded out on a first review as being incomplete? What should I do about that?
Also - my permit says "NO EXTENSIONS" on it. Can I still apply for an extension knowing that it will be rejected?
THANK YOU!

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
Hi,
You will need to change your status as you are probably no longer eligible for IEC (I am guessing that's what ""NO EXTENSIONS"means in this case).

As to your labour marketing impact assessment, you need one unless you are eligible for an open work permit (and I doubt you are). One of our consultants is an expert with IEC (he came here on it himself) and I am going to ask him to respond to your question.

Hope this helps.

ChileWorker

Hi
Thanks so much for your response!
No, I'm not a manager.
I have an open permit now - so I can't apply to extend it with out a labour market assessment?
My application will be immediately rejected without submitting one?
I'm pretty sure that I will be denied, but I'm interested in implied status while my application is being processed,
Thanks again!

Anthony Doherty

Hi Chileworker,