Moving to Canada

vale_coronda

Hello.
I apologise whether this was posted in this group on any other location.
I'm from Argentina and I have a question (well, many in fact). I was exploring the options to move to Canada and I think I must apply for the Federal Skilled Workers program. Now, my question is: Do I need a work permit or according to my qualifications I can get a visa (not so sure which one), move there and start a new life.
OK, I know you need some more info as to my situation. I'm an English <> Spanish translator, currently I work on a freelancer basis for US agencies and have got 13 years in the industry. My main fields of expertise are medical, educational, technical, gas&oil and legal. So, work would be no problem for me because I can work from home wherever I am. Plus, I am a French teacher.
The fact is that my husband and I want to settle in a better place, which allows us to improve our lifestyle and to give our almost 8 years old daughter a better future. We have thought of Canada because it's first class in all aspects.
As to my husband, he has an intermediate degree in construction (is similar to an architect but with a restriction as to the height of the building or residence he can build). He could work as foreman or construction manager, maybe. He can also work doing architectural rendering for contruction companies. He's studying English to seat for an exam so as to get the minimun requiered to move to Canada.
So, according to the info above, is it possible for us to apply for a visa as resident or immigrant and go and settle in Canada? Is there any other thing you can advise/recommend me to take as an action?
Any comments will be appreciated. Thanks!
Best,

Riley Haas

Administrator
Staff member
Hi there,
You currently qualify for the Federal Skilled Worker program and translator is one of the "Eligible Occupations", i.e. you do not need a job offer to immigrate.